What Is the Cost of A New Jersey Speeding Ticket?
Fines: A speeding ticket in New Jersey costs between $85 and $260 depending how far over the limit one goes. It costs $85 for going 1-9 mph over; $95 for 10-14 mph; $105 for 15-19 mph; $200 for 20-24 mph; $220 for 25-29 mph; $240 for 30-34 mph; and $260 for 35-39 mph over. The fine is doubled for drivers going 10 mph or more over a 65+ mph speed limit.
Court costs: Drivers who challenge their speeding ticket in court must pay a $34 fee.
Surcharges. When a driver is convicted of six or more points worth of speeding tickets in New Jersey over three years, he/she will be required to pay a surcharge. The surcharge is an additional fee on top of the fine associated with the ticket. A NJ surcharge costs $150 plus $25 for each point over six.
Points: The number of points a driver gets for a NJ speeding ticket depend on the driver’s speed. Going 1-14 mph over the limit is worth 2 points; 15-29 mph over is worth 4 points; and speeding 30 mph or more is worth 5 points.
Auto insurance premium increase. A conviction for speeding means the offense will appear on one’s NJ driving record. Auto insurers will inevitably notice the conviction and adjust one’s rate accordingly. One study found a single speeding ticket can raise rates by as much as 15%. Remember that in New Jersey traffic tickets stay on one’s driving record for life!
|Speed Over Limit||Fine||Points|
Hiring an Attorney to Fight a NY Speeding Ticket
The combination of fines, surcharges and insurance increases that result from a speeding ticket can cost hundreds and even thousands of dollars. As such, in most cases hiring a lawyer to get the ticket reduced or dismissed (if possible) will save drivers money. In most cases, an attorney can reduce a New Jersey speeding ticket to a lower-point violation. Such reductions can mitigate the impact on one’s driving record and auto insurance rates.
For drivers that may find it difficult to appear in traffic court—especially those who live out of state—a lawyer can file an affidavit of hardship that in some cases will allow him/her to enter the plea and argue the case without the client appearing in court.
Out-of State Drivers with New Jersey Speeding Tickets
It is unfortunately common for drivers to think that if they do not live in New Jersey then a NJ speeding ticket does not affect them. This is very wrong and can result in serious consequences. New Jersey is a member of the interstate Drivers License Compact, in which participating states share information about each other’s drivers. That means the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission will send a notice to other states’ licensing authority with details about any NJ traffic violations for which an out-of-state driver was convicted. Drivers who make the mistake of ignoring or forgetting to respond to a NJ speeding ticket will be sent a “Failure to Appear” notice, with instructions on how and when to respond. Refusing to comply with those directions or missing the deadline can result in New Jersey issuing a warrant for the person’s arrest!
Fortunately, drivers from other states can hire a New Jersey traffic ticket attorney to handle the speeding ticket case for them. New Jersey is quite strict about requiring drivers to appear in court to handle traffic matters, with or without an attorney. Those who live outside the state have more leverage, however. As mentioned above, by filing an affidavit of hardship it is possible to have an attorney appear in court in one’s stead.
- Can I plead no contest to an NJ speeding ticket?
While many states (e.g. Connecticut) allow drivers to plead no contest to traffic tickets and avoid some consequences, New Jersey does not offer that option. Drivers must admit guilt, plead not guilty and fight the charges, or accept a plea deal from the prosecutor.
- How long does it take points to come off my NJ driver’s license?
Each year a driver goes with no violations or suspensions can result in 3 points being reduced from the license. The year begins on the date of the last violation or most recent license restoration. In addition, drivers can take a Defensive Driving Program, which will reduce the number of points by 2; this can only be done once every five years. Similarly, a Driver Improvement Program can reduce the point total by 3, but can only be done once every two years. Note that the point total is reduced but all convictions remain on the driving record which can impact insurance which is why it makes sense to get them reduced.
- What is the statute of limitations for a NJ speeding ticket?
There is no statute of limitations for a New Jersey speeding tickets. Drivers who are ticketed for speeding must respond to the charges in person on or before the appointed time on the ticket. Those who fail to do so will be issued a “Failure to Appear” notice and could ultimately be arrested.
- Does New Jersey report speeding tickets to other states?
New Jersey will report speeding ticket to another state only if 1. The person ticketed is licensed to drive in that state, and 2. The person pays the ticket or is convicted the speeding charge.
- Do I have to show up to court to fight my NJ speeding ticket?
In most cases, yes. As mentioned above, there are instances in which a person can file an affidavit of hardship in order to allow an attorney to appear on their behalf. However, simply not having enough paid time off at work is not sufficient. Drivers should discuss this option with their attorney to determine if they have a valid claim for the affidavit.