New York experiences a high number of pedestrian injury accidents and fatalities every year. The New York Vehicle and Traffic Law (VTL) protects the safety of motorists and pedestrians alike. Generally pedestrians are given the right of way unless they demonstrate negligent or reckless behavior such as stepping in front of a moving vehicle without giving the vehicle enough time to stop or jaywalking.
Under NY VTL §1151, Failure to Yield to a Pedestrian, the law states that even when there is no traffic signal or working signal, a driver must yield to a pedestrian crossing within a crosswalk. Also, whenever any vehicle has stopped to permit a pedestrian to cross the roadway, the driver of any other vehicle approaching from the rear may not pass or overtake the stopped vehicle. That means a driver of a vehicle must stop and stay stopped for a pedestrian crossing the roadway within any marked crosswalk.
Points and Fines For NY VTL §1151
For motorists, Failure to Yield to a Pedestrian is a moving violation which can subject you to a $150 fine plus a mandatory NYS surcharge of $93 for the first offense and 3 points on your license.
In New York, police officers target high pedestrian crash locations by issuing warnings and summonses to both motorists and pedestrians whose actions can put individuals at risk.
For your safety, remember:
- Stop for pedestrians in designated crosswalks.
- Be alert for pedestrians at all times, especially when turning.
- Obey the speed limits.
- Do not block or park in crosswalks.
- Remember to always cross within marked crosswalks or at the corners of a street.
- Obey traffic signals, such as “Walk/Don’t Walk”.
- Be alert and watch for cars that are turning.
- Stay sober; walking while impaired greatly increases your chance of being struck.