Long Island drivers, beware. Suffolk County police are stepping up their enforcement of New York’s Move Over Law (VTL 1144-a).
In a recent campaign on County Road 83 cops issued 28 tickets, including 16 for violating the Move Over Law, in just 2 hours! These tickets can mean fines of up to $275, plus 3 points on your driver’s license.
So, what is the Move Over Law?
New York’s Move Over Law requires drivers to slow down and move over when passing police, emergency vehicles, or “hazard vehicles” (such as tow trucks) with flashing yellow lights. When possible, drivers must move from the lane immediately adjacent to the emergency or hazard vehicle, unless traffic or other hazards exist to prevent doing so safely.
The goal of the Move Over Law is to protect police, emergency workers, and other maintenance workers while performing their duties. And Move Over Law tickets are often accompanied by additional citations including Improper Passing, Unsafe Lane Change, Reckless Driving or others, compounding the fines and points one can receive.
How do I fight a Move Over Law ticket?
First, make sure you respond to your ticket by pleading “Not Guilty.” If you plead guilty, you forfeit your chance for a trial and immediately become subject to the fines and points for your ticket.
Next, contact an experienced traffic court attorney. A good lawyer will be able to fight and might be able to get your ticket reduced or dismissed by showing how moving over may have been dangerous and/or illegal.
At The Rosenblum Law Firm, we have over a decade of experience fighting all types of traffic tickets, including Move Over Law tickets. We know traffic law inside and out, and can craft your legal defense to reduce or even eliminate your fines and points. For more information or a free legal consultation, call us at 888-883-5529 today.