Why Should I Fight My Reckless Driving Charge?
Reckless Driving in New York is a very serious charge that carries heavy penalties and fines. First you should understand that reckless driving is a crime and will result in a criminal record if convicted and can involve jail time, even on the first offense in some cases. Apart from the immediate consequences of possible jail time and fines a criminal record it can negatively impact your ability to travel, find a job, your immigration status and possibly your ability to acquire a student loan.
Under Vehicle and Traffic Law section 1212, reckless driving carries a $300 fine along with an $85 surcharge, 5 points and 30 days in jail for a first offense. To make matters worse, reckless driving charges are usually issued along with another moving violation in New York like speeding which carries its own number of points and fines. The points on your license can really add up with a reckless driving charge and an additional moving violation. When you have 11 points on your NY state license your driving privileges can be suspended.
In New York, if you have 6 points or more on your license you can also be charged a separate state surcharge known as the Driver’s Responsibility Assessment. The Driver’s Responsibility Assessment at 6 points is a $100 fine every year for three years. Each point that you have above 6 adds an additional $25 to that amount for 3 years. A reckless driving conviction will very well mean an increase to your auto insurance premiums. Reckless driving charges are considered serious offenses for insurance companies and even if you have an otherwise clean record you can expect a high percentage rate increase to your insurance. Needless to say it is always a good idea to fight pending charges to your driver’s license and do your best to stay away from points.
How Do I Fight My Reckless Driving Charge?
As explained above there are many costs, fines and penalties that you can be facing for a reckless driving charge. Do not plead guilty to reckless driving charges. You should consult with an attorney immediately after you have been charged with the offense to better understand your options. An attorney is your best chance at having the charges against you reduced or dismissed all together.
Remember that a reckless driving charge in New York is a very serious offense, which means that it will not be heard by the Traffic Violations Bureau (TVB). A case that is not in front of the TVB can be negotiated or plea bargained for a more favorable outcome. In many cases an attorney can have the criminal charges downgraded to a noncriminal offense or negotiate a plea bargain on your behalf. Not only can attorney keep you from having a criminal record but they help lessen the points and keep your auto insurance premiums from increasing dramatically.
Call The Rosenblum Law Firm at 888-883-5529 today. We have helped hundreds of clients all across the State of New York fight reckless driving charges and get the criminal charges, points and fines reduced.